Quick Links

Useful Links

Cromwell Community College

Governance Structure

Cromwell is accountable to The Active Learning Trust Board. 

Details of The Active Learning Trust governance can be found via these links:

Active Learning Trust Governance

Active Learning Trust Board and Members

The board can be contacted via the clerk at:

jroberts@cromwell.cambs.sch.uk or


Local Governing Body


Jane Horn

Trust Governor

Executive Headteacher - Cromwell Community College

Jane Horn has been Principal of Cromwell Community College since 2014 having previously been Vice Principal. Jane started her teaching career at a secondary school in Huntingdon where she became Assistant Head with responsibility for Key Stage 3. Jane is thoroughly committed to school improvement; in 2016 Cromwell was rated Good by OFSTED. The College is now focused on ensuring that outcomes for all pupils are outstanding.


Ian Whitlam

Parent Governor 

Health & Safety 

I was a Parent Governor at Earith Primary School for 5 years, including the role of Chair of the Standards Committee, and have now been a parent governor for Cromwell Community College for 3 years. I have a daughter in Year 8 and a son in Year 11 at Cromwell Community College.  My background is in education. I taught in secondary schools for 25 years as a Head of Music, and also a Head of Year. I now work for Go4Schools as an Education Services Consultant. This involves training schools in the use of software to track attainment, behaviour, attendance and how to analyse all aspects of pupil data.


Simon Bainbridge

Trust Governor


Simon’s first role working with young people with additional needs was as a Support Worker at a Scope school in Hertfordshire.  Simon began his teaching career in 1997 in a National Autistic Society School and in 2006 he gained a Deputy Headship at a new build area special school in Cambridgeshire.  In 2011 he moved as Headteacher to Highfield Ely before it joined the Active Learning Trust in 2016, and was given the opportunity to play a lead part in the development of another new build area special school, Highfield Littleport.  In 2018 a new LINC 10-25 was opened, the first provision of its type in the Eastern region.  Simon now enjoys providing support for schools in developing their provisions for learners with SEND, and remains committed to providing the learners in the Trust with SEND with the best possible outcomes.


Sian Pritchard

Vice Chair of Governors 

Early Years & Primary / Quality of Education


I retired from the Executive Headship of Kingsfield and Earith Primary Schools in April 2020 having been a head for five years.  I have had a varied professional career, graduating with a Law degree in 1984 and working as a civil servant, recruiter, out of school club leader and teaching assistant before embarking on a career in teaching 20 years ago.  Before becoming a head I worked in primary schools in Huntingdon teaching across the age groups, becoming a SENDCO, Designated Safeguarding Lead and Deputy Headteacher. 

Jonathan Digby

Chair of Governors 

Secondary Quality of Education


Jonathan has spent all his teaching career in Cambridgeshire and Peterborough starting back in 1988 teaching PE at Bassingbourn Village College. He then moved to Stanground College in Peterborough in 1991, initially as the Head of PE and then as Director of Sport, when the school became a Sports College. From there he went to Ramsey Abbey, which became Abbey College, as Deputy Headteacher and was then appointed as the Principal for Sir Harry Smith Community College in 2008. Following the creation of the new Aspire Learning Trust, he was appointed as the CEO in October 2016. In 2019 he was appointed as the Chair of the Academy Council at KESA and he is also a Trustee of another MAT in Norfolk. After a very successful four years with the Aspire Learning Trust, Jonathan officially retired but has now taken on the interim role of Director of Secondary Education at Eastern Multi Academy Trust. In September 2020 Jonathan was invited to become a Member of Aspire Learning trust.