Quick Links

Useful Links

Cromwell Community College


The Computing programme of study sets out an overview of learning objectives that children should be taught by the end of each key stage.  For detailed Knowledge and Skills Progression in each year group, download the PDF document at the bottom of this page.

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Understanding the World, sets out that children should have the opportunity to explore, observe and find out about technology.

Key Stage 1 and 2 

Computer Science covers topics such as:

  • How computer networks work
  • Algorithms
  • Sequence
  • Selection
  • Variables

Computer Science: Key Stage 2

We aim to introduce some text-based programming to the older children; computational thinking is also developed further through concepts such as decomposition, which means breaking down large problems into smaller parts.

Information Technology: Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2

Information Technology is very broad involving the creation, organisation and manipulation of digital content in both key stages – digital content is taught and includes things such as audio to images to film and beyond.

Information Technology: Key Stage 2

Children are taught how to use search technologies effectively and how to analyse, present and evaluate data.

Digital Citizenship: Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2

The Digital Citizenship component of the Computing curriculum incorporates a lot of what is referred to as ‘online safety’ – using technology safely, respectfully and responsibly. All children will be taught a range of ways to report any concerns they may have.

Digital Citizenship: Key Stage 2

Pupils in Key Stage 2 will also learn how to evaluate content and consider how reliable the information they find online is.

The document below sets out the skills progression for each year group:

Knowledge and Skills Progression in Computing